Jupiter Artland, September 2017

It’s taken a while, but I’ve finally been out and about again since the Fringe! I took a trip to Jupiter Artland, a sculpture park and art gallery near Edinburgh. The weather was quite changeable, and some areas of the park are open while others are in the woods, so the photography conditions were quite challenging! Quite a lot of the pictures I took just didn’t cut it once I got home and looked at them in Lightroom, so disappointingly there are no pictures of the ripening brambles from deep in the woods, and with it being fairly windy, quite a lot of the plant and insect pictures were too blurry to use. It’s all a learning experience though! I was pleased that I did manage to capture a couple of passable photos of the underground wasp nest we found behind one of the trees, and that wasn’t easy.

I’ve selected quite a few of the photographs to caption or discuss further below, and because I didn’t start out with a good filing system on my Vikki Clicks Flickr page (which I really must reorganise at some point), you’ll have to make do with viewing the full set on my personal page.

IMG_8815

A nice tree tunnel, but I could have positioned myself better to have it a bit straighter. Another learning point!

IMG_8821

A rather tame peacock, undertaking his morning ablutions (I think we woke him!)

IMG_8830

Checking his reflection.

IMG_8838

A tricky art installation to photograph, and if I was taller I might have got a better angle.

IMG_8839

Gorgeous views over the West Lothian countryside to the three bridges.

IMG_8840

It’s a shame it’s quite a hazy morning, I should try to come back on a clearer day for a more stunning photograph.

IMG_8853

Playing with shadows under a large sculpture.

IMG_8859

The three bridges through the sculpture.

IMG_8865

A very tricky shot inside a dark building with a small, high window.

IMG_8870

Getting some benefit from the rain shower!

IMG_8877

Creepy statues.

IMG_8880

A very difficult shot to balance the exposure of – bright sunshine after the rain shower, deep shadows behind the tree.

IMG_8888

I like the way the long, curving branch seems to be pointing to the statue.

IMG_8900

A lovely shot from inside a dome. It reminds me of one of those plasma plate things.

IMG_8909

A bust of Sappho.

IMG_8911

A rather large shotgun, tricky to get into a good place to photograph all of it.

IMG_8918

I love pathways through woods.

IMG_8920

A hoverfly on a flower – it was quite windy, so this wasn’t easy!

IMG_8923

A rather blurry spider, the stem was swaying about so much I couldn’t get it in focus enough. But I like the shape of the leaves, so I kept it.

IMG_8931

Another hoverfly on a different flower.

IMG_8933

A hairy-legged spider.

IMG_8935

I love this twisted old tree.

IMG_8946

Another installation – a manmade spider web. Quite tricky to photograph.

IMG_8949

Focusing on the web itself – hard to get it in focus, and not the field through the holes!

IMG_8951

Lunchtime! Love the inside of the restaurant, great colours and lights.

IMG_8958

I love the diffuse light from these orbs.

IMG_8959

The peacock checking out his reflection before he starts clean-up duty in the outdoor seating area.

IMG_8979

Another lovely bit of the path.

IMG_8990

The unmistakable work of Charles Jencks.

IMG_8993

An amazing arch of pebbles.

IMG_8994

I love the straight and curved lines around the bridge.

IMG_8998

View from the top, sweeping curves.

IMG_9003

I tried and tried, but even at f22 I couldn’t get the dandelion and arch in focus. They’re just too far apart.

IMG_9042

Ahhh so THAT’S how you cut the grass on almost vertical slopes!

IMG_9061

More sweeping curves.

IMG_9078

An almost-in-focus wagtail flying past.

IMG_9089

Oooh dragonflies down by the boathouse.

IMG_9095

Now this is one insect that had the decency to pose for a close-up! If only he’d been a wee bit further away from the gap between the planks…

IMG_9101

Gorgeous reflections of the boathouse in the pond.

IMG_9111

Perfectly-framed trees in the field beyond.

IMG_9135

A tricky shot to capture – wasps going in and out of an underground nest in the shadow of a large tree in the woods.

IMG_9152

Underground amethyst cavern. Another tricky shot with the bright sky above.

IMG_9156-2

Workmen are still painting this installation, I thought I’d managed to hide this one behind the pillar, but no – he’s looking right at the camera!

IMG_9158

Had to wait ages for people to stop wandering through here…

IMG_9159

If I had the time and inclination I could photoshop the ladder and wheelbarrow handles out of this reverse view… but nah! 😛

IMG_9169

Back to the Charles Jencks area.

IMG_9180

I took a picture from here when we arrived, but it was so hazy before the rain that the bridge wasn’t visible.

Leave a Reply

